Loebs Elected to FAIA

Loebs Elected to FAIA

Loebs Brenda Case Scheer (LF ’90) and James Brown (LF ’09) are among the 139 American Institute of Architects members elevated to the prestigious College of Fellows this year for their contributions to architecture and society and achievements of excellence.

Scheer has been dean of the College of Architecture + Planning at the University of Utah for the past 8 years, during which she is credited with transforming the school. Under Scheer’s leadership, highly regarded programs in urban planning, real estate development, product design, preservation, and sustainability have augmented the signature architecture program. The college has set priorities in social and civic responsibility and hands-on community learning. Scheer’s significant research and scholarship provide theory and guidance to designers and policy makers who combat sprawl and protect significant places.

Snooze Eatery

Snooze Eatery, designed by Public

James Brown (LF ’09) is principal of the San Diego architecture and planning firm Public, whose portfolio includes residential, mixed use and commercial developments and public art and installations. Public’s design for Snooze Eatery in San Diego’s busy Hillcrest Fifth Avenue corridor won a 2012 San Diego Architectural Foundation Orchid award for excellence, and his public art collaboration with Janet Echelman, “Every Beating Second,” is on display at the San Francisco International Airport Terminal.

The 2014 Fellows will be honored at an investiture ceremony at the 2014 National AIA Convention and Design Exposition in Chicago. See the whole list of Fellows.

Photo of "Every Beating Second" by YanYan Mao.

Tagged , , , |

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *